What does it take to grow a strong tree beyond water, nutrients and sunlight?

One would believe that all it takes to raise a strong tree would be water, nutritious soil and some light.  Wrong!

Recently, I heard that trees in the Biosphere 2, a controlled environment with the right amount of known ingredients to nurture growth, could not even handle their own weight.  The designers forgot one element – The Wind.  Indoors, they do did not experience the effect of wind, and did not develop the structure to defend against it. They lacked stress wood, normally created as a response to winds in natural conditions.

Almost everyone that I have posed the question, “What does it take to grow a strong tree?” omit to mention wind as a necessary element.  But the moment you make them aware of the impact wind can have on the growth of a tree, its like a light bulb goes on in their head.  They will never forget it. 

This immediately struck a strong connection for me with respect to parents who protect their children from witnessing or experiencing any kind or disappointment or adversity.  I only hope that we don’t forget it very soon in this context as we often do.

I was raised in a very protected environment by my parents and had never really been exposed to the complexities of life until I was in college.  Oh! Boy, was I in for a rude awakening.  In retrospect, I wish that it came to me in smaller doses.  So as a parent, I let my children get exposed to small doses of life as and when it happens.

When I was in high school, I read the saying, “May there be just enough clouds in your life to make a glorious sunset.”  After learning about the positive impact of wind on the healthy growing of trees, I must say that I have a different saying, “May there be just enough obstacles in your life to strengthen your character and commitment to your purpose.”

About Krishna Pendyala

Author of "Beyond the PIG and the APE: Realizing SUCCESS and true HAPPINESS". I am a life coach, speaker and workshop leader. My vision is to enhance life on our planet by raising awareness of the ego, in a simple manner. My commitment is to empower men and women make better choices to achieve joy and fulfillment, without protracted struggles or huge personal crises. I believe we can create an enlightened society where inner awareness empowers people to thrive in harmony.
This entry was posted in Awareness and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What does it take to grow a strong tree beyond water, nutrients and sunlight?

  1. JODISK says:

    “Life does not put things in front of you that you are unable to handle.”

    That is the phrase I have on a card on my desk – a card I gave to myself – to remind me that the tough things, even the unseen ones like wind, help to make me stronger. Thanks for reminding me that the things that are not easy can makes us better.

    For example, do you know of any talented guitar player that does not have callouses on their fingers? There is pain in getting those callouses, but the callouses are needed to make the most of the effort and talent brought to the instrument by the guitar player. No true player has soft fingertips.

  2. Kathleen says:

    Wonderful BLOG! A friend sent it to me, and I love your articles…very thoughtful and full of insight and wisdom.
    Many thanks!

Leave a Reply

